Any Douglas & McLeod 22 Owners Out There?

Catalinas are everywhere.  There are benefits to this.  There are boat owner groups online and probably near enough to attend their regattas and other social events.  Joining a owners’ group has other benefits.  Can’t find a part?  Ask the tribe; someone knows where to find it.

I own a Douglas & McLeod 22.  This team did produce the Thistle and Highlander and went on to produce Tartans.  Gordon Douglas went on to design the Flying Scott.  All popular boats.  I don’t know how many D&M 22s are out there, but if you own one, I’d like to hear from you.  I would value to the opportunity to swap ideas, advice, concerns and to chat with a fellow owner of a D&M 22.

Thanks!

Douglas & McLeod 22 Boat Data

Hull Type:  Fin Keel
Rig Type:  Masthead Sloop
LOA:  22.00′ / 6.71m
LWL:  18.75′ / 5.72m
Beam:  8.42′ / 2.57m
Listed SA:  254 ft2 / 23.6 m2
Draft (max.)  5.50′ / 1.68m Draft (min.)  
Disp.  2775 lbs./ 1259 kgs.
Ballast:  1000 lbs. / 454 kgs.
Designer:  Sparkman & Stephens
Builder:  Douglas & McCoud (USA)
Construct.:  FG
First Built:  1971 Last Built:   # Built:  

RIG DIMENSIONS  KEY
I:  30.50′ / 9.30m
J:  9.25′ / 2.82m
P:  26.50′ / 8.08m
E:  8.50′ / 2.59m
PY:   EY:  
SPL:   ISP:  
SA(Fore.):  141.06 ft2 / 13.10 m2
SA(Main):  112.63 ft2 / 10.46 m2
Total(calc.)SA:   253.69 ft2 / 23.57 m2
SA/Disp:  20.61
Est. Forestay Len.:  31.87′ / 9.71m

About brucemoody

Live and work in the District of Columbia. I keep a Douglass & McLeod 22 sailboat at Buzzard Point Marina in the Southwest quadrant of Washington, D.C.

Posted on September 19, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I have owned 2 D&M 22’s. They both required a lot of restoration. I enjoyed them and would buy another again, for the right price. If you have any questions I would be happy to try and answer. I can be contacted at: PNJ@yacht-repair.com

  2. Just found this site and yes I own a D&M 22 but live aboard an Ericson 35. The D&M resides in Tampa Bay Fl and I live in Ft Myers Beach Fl .

  3. By the way…your boat is much nicer than mine. My name is Jeff and the name of my D&M 22 is ” Boomarang” . She is a 1974 model red in color HIn#DMC220810874. Lemme find a decent pic of her and I will send it if you like. I am 43 years of age and a long time sailor holding a USCG Masters 100gt Captains license ….just so you know I am no novice…lol.

    Capt Jeff in South Fl

  4. Hi Bruce,

    I was overjoyed to find your blog as I am a past owner of Freyja.

    I owned her from 2006 until 2008, when I moved away from DC and had to sell her much to my discontent. I actually gave her the name which you have kept on, in favor of her not-very-pretty predecessor. It was something terrible which I can’t quite remember now. (I know it goes against the laws of the sea, but it had to be done..)

    Six to twelve months after I sold her I managed to visit her at Buzzard Point, and my heart sank when I saw her laying lopsided in the water. Obviously in very bad condition, I thought hard about trying to get her back somehow, to ‘save her’. Now that I have seen your posts I’m glad I didn’t. You have done an amazing job with her and I just wanted to let you know it has given me a lot of pleasure to see that!

    Anyway I won’t ramble too much but if you would like to get in touch you can reach me on jeremy.tomlinson@inbox.com – I might be able to fish out a few pictures from when I had her if you would like.

    Jeremy

  5. Hi Bruce,

    I also own a D&M 22. The Meander. She is hull #1. So needless to say she needs some work as well. But certainly worth the effort. I started a D&M owners group on Facebook for the same reason you started this thread. Please check it out if your interested. It should be a good place to share pics, tips and restoration details.

    Jason

  6. I’m from Maryland and went to college in Wooster Ohio in the early 1970s. We sailed Thistles at home and landlocked in Ohio, I was desperate for any sailing. My father had an interest in getting a D&M 22 (as a big brother to the thistle). I thought it spectacularly ugly but interested because it was an S&S design and it had a tall rig. It was advertised as a Quarter Ton racer too, which sounded cool. So I hitch hiked up to the dealer in Cleveland from Wooster one winter day, showing up to trial sail the boat. It was blowing a gale and near freezing. The dealer bravely and with good humor, accomodated me and we did take a brisk, wet sail inside the breakwater under mainsail only. My recollection was that the boat sailed well but between the conditions and minimal sail plan, the sail was at best, inconclusive. I think it was even snowing as I hitchiked back to Wooster. The odd looking little boat somehow hit a good note and I reported back to my Dad that it was a nice boat (looks aren’t everything). When I returned home from Wooster at semester’s end, we had a new boat – not the D&M 22 but a newer Thistle!
    Not sure what brought me to look up the D&M 22 but memories of that unusual sail are good ones

  7. I am an extremely novice sailor who just bought a D&M 22. I’m currently living on it in Freeport, Maine. Just got out of college and wanted to get into the ‘cruising’ lifestyle as soon as possible. I’m learning a lot! But still lost on a few things. Feel free to shoot me an email with any misc. tips or suggestions!

    • Benjamin, I have owned 3 D&M 22’s. I went to school in Castine many years ago. My wife, daughter and I have lived aboard our 40′ endeavour for the past 23 years. If you have any questions about the D&M 22, drop me a line at my email address Sailflipper@Yahoo.com. Cheers, Phil

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

